Feminism- the movement for gender equality.

Yesterday in English we had a lesson about feminism-and it basically ended up as this guy and myself arguing (with the occasional input of others). We were asked if we were feminists, and then were asked if we believed in gender equality. I understand that not everyone wants to label themselves a ‘feminist’-but will still want equal rights and opportunities for all genders, but this person never raised his hand. Our teacher questioned it, and to cut the story short, it became a bit of a debate.

I find it infuriating that it’s 2017 and I am arguing that all genders deserve the same rights and opportunities. I recognise that being a cis white girl living in a first world country I have many privileges that others don’t, but I still feel that it’s important to argue against the misogyny that’s still around today-especially in countries that aren’t as fortunate as the one I live in.

Women’s rights are human rights. Women aren’t less deserving of them than men are-just because of their gender. I don’t know if the person I was arguing against was just doing it for attention-or whether he genuinely believes that men are better than women.

I think there is a lot of stigma surrounding the idea of feminism- the term often seems to connote ‘man hating’ to many people. I feel that there is a misunderstanding-feminism is for everyone, it’s against the patriarchy, not men. It’s why it means ‘gender equality’ not ‘women are better than men’.

The notion that half the worlds population don’t deserve the same rights and opportunities because of their gender is outrageous;  not to mention the injustices done to those who stand outside of the gender binary.

I personally identify as a feminist because it’s a widely used term for those that want gender equality. Sorry that this was a bit of a rant-but what he said really annoyed me, and I thought I’d let out my anger here.

-Jenn

