To really be happy in one’s self I think you have to be accepting of who you are, despite your flaws. And slowly- I think I’m beginning to do this.

I’m weird. Always have been, always will be. I’ve never really been a ‘cool’ person, and I don’t mind that. 

I think that somewhere in me, I’ve always been a bit uneasy with who I am, wanting to fit in more than I’d dare to admit. Despite being a self- proclaimed ‘weirdo’ for a long time, there was always something that wanted me to be a different person- who I’m not.

I remember the the beginning of high school, thinking I’m going to have ‘fresh start’- becoming a new ‘cooler’ version of myself. In a strange ‘new year, new me’ type thing. Surprise, it never happened, I’m still weird.

However now, I don’t really care as much. From experience, I know I can’t change who I am easily, yes I can work on things that I want to change, my flaws, but not my ‘weirdness’. I’ll always be a bit too loud when I talk, say strange things and over-repeat the words ‘thank you’ and sorry’. Accepting who you are is important, and I think I’m starting to do just that (yay).

I hope all is well where ever you are.

-Jenn

